Back to News & PR

Brick Awards 2018 – Shortlist Announced

2018 04 11 brick awards 1280 1 w1280h960


The Brick Awards 2018 set a new record this year with 340 entries in to the prestigious competition, across 15 categories. The Brick Awards showcases the very best examples of clay brick in the UK’s built environment. A 42-year legacy has celebrated myriad bold and interesting architecture, demonstrating again this year an extraordinary caliber of projects.


The task of shortlisting fell to a panel of experienced architects, planners, specilaist brickwork contractors, developers and other design and brick experts, who produced a final shortlist of 108projects.


Click here to view the 2018 judging panel.


Click here to view the shortlist in full.


Selected across three categories is the regeneration of the former BBC Television Centre. Picking up nominations in the Large Housing Development, Innovation and Commercial categories the project uses brick to meet both the aesthetic requirements of such a prestigious project and seamlessly link all elements of the project’s construction. Judges agreed that the final outcome of the project was a stunning display of traditionally laid brickwork being used alongside modern methods of construction, encompassing large format precast panels and lightweight brick slip cladding.


Refurbishment, a category which always sees a high number of entrants thanks to brick’s sustainable quality, saw an artistic entry this year with Turner’s House making it through to the inspection stage of the judging process. Turner’s House is a small, grade II listed, early C19th villa, designed by the eminent painter, J.M.W.Turner. The building deteriorated over the years but now thanks to clever detailing and craftsmanship, between original and new brick the building has been restored to its former glory.


Judges were also impressed with Ouseburn Road in Newcastle, nominated in the Small Housing Development category. The project’s brief called for two houses for a pair of neighbours looking to downsize. Both homes provide modest accommodation on a restricted budget in the back gardens of standard terrace houses. Construction is fairly traditional, the architecture enhanced residents’ experience and contributes positively to the urban environment.


“What is great about the Brick Awards is how they can be for both craftsmanship and innovation. The awards are about architecture in its broadest sense, and they consider a great range of building types, locations and densities.” - Hilary Satchwell, Director, Tibbalds and Brick Awards 2018 Head Judge.


What really sets the Brick Awards apart from any other industry awards is the process to find the overall winners. After the rigorous shortlisting, the judges now go into exceptional depth, including visits to every shortlisted site in the UK, to consider the induvial merits of each project. The awards criteria span: planning; design; and quality of construction, including of course the substantial and skilful use of clay brick. Applications range from classic clay building blocks and facing bricks to the creative use of ceramic façade panels and roof tiles. Special attention is directed to the general quality of the architecture and ways in which the building shows sensitivity to its surroundings and purpose.


The winners will be announced at the Brick Awards ceremony on the 8th November at London’s Park Lane Hilton Hotel.


To reserve your place at the Brick Awards please click here.